Posted by: Lea | April 12, 2010

I’m Running a 5K!!!

So, I did it. I registered for my very first 5K- the Mickey’s Halloween Family Fun Run 5K at Walt Disney World on October 2, 2010. Have I mentioned that I HATE running? Because I do. So why might you ask did I decide to sign up for a 5K?

Well, to start with, the 5K takes place at my most very favorite place in the world- Walt Disney World! It’s a Halloween themed race through the Magic Kingdom- what can beat that for your 1st ever race? Secondly, I turn 35 the month after the race- could be a way for me to try and recapture my youth. Thirdly, “everyone is doing it”. When I say everyone, I mean all of my Disney Twitter pals! We have worked together to encourage each other and to have one giant “Tweet Up”- I can’t wait to meet some new people and to see some old friends.

The thought of running (er, walking maybe), my 1st 5K actually isn’t as daunting as I thought it would be. I am looking forward to starting something new and am very excited about doing the 5K with my wonderful husband, who has given up a trip to Cozumel to go to Walt Disney World yet again!

Training commences today! I am starting the Couch 2 5K program and hope that I can make it through week 1. I am determined though. I will do it! And I will see all of you at the Finish Line!

Responses

  1. you go girl!! I don’t think I can actually do the race, but I will do my best to be there & cheer y’all on!! If nothing else, I’ll hang w y’all on Sunday 😉

  2. yay! you can do it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

