Posted by: Lea | April 20, 2010

Week 1 DONE!

Well, I can officially check Week 1 of the Couch 2 5K off of my list! Done! Finito! Complete! And I lived…which in itself surprises me.

As I’ve mentioned before, I HATE running. I don’t have much of an attention span so running tends to bore me. The past week though as been different. I know I’m running towards something- Walt Disney World. When I’ve tried to run in the past, it’s been because I had to. Now, I’m doing it because I want to, which is a totally different experience. I want to run through the Magic Kingdom (I mean, really, who wouldn’t?). I want to meet up with so many friends down at Walt Disney World for the 5K (woo hoo LushCrew). And more than anything, I want to feel the sense of accomplishment of crossing that finish line! I’ve spent my time this week on the treadmill in the gym running and watching the time and the miles tick by. I’ve sweated more than I ever wanted to. And each time, when I’ve gotten off the treadmill, my legs have felt like noodles. But I’ve also felt GREAT!

I’ve had many people tell me they run a 5K everyday. And my answer is always “Good for you”.  But for me, this is bigger. It’s something I never thought I’d be able to do, much less want to do. So, now that Week 1 of the training plan is complete, I’m even more sure that this is something that I can do!

Week 2, here I come!

Responses

  1. Way to go Lea! It will be so worth it in October at the 5K! And the celebration after- Go LUSH CREW! 🙂

  2. Congratulations. I am not a runner either and some friends want me to do a 5k with them. I think I would be motivated if it was the 5k in Disney.

  3. hi from the mbc!

    congratulations! that’s definitely a huge accomplishment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

