Posted by: Lea | May 8, 2010

Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all you beautiful women who are lucky enough to be called mothers. And to all of those who are such an important part of our lives that even though you may not be a mom, you are like one to us.

Eight years ago this weekend, I didn’t know what my life as a mother would hold in store for me. I was (very) pregnant with my first daughter, Riley. My husband was laid-off from his job as a pilot with United Airlines (after September 11). And I was the sole-income earner for the family. I was just plain scared. Eleven days after Mother’s Day, Riley arrived. Immediately, my breath was taken away, as much as it could have been considering I was still drugged up since the epidural didn’t take effect until AFTER she had already made her debut. In fact, I was so confused, I asked “Is this her?”, as if they actually delivered my daughter and then went out and got a replacement. Here was this little 6 pound 7 ounce red-headed baby girl. She was stunning. I don’t think I truly knew how teeny tiny she would actually be. We were able to take her home with us 2 days later. We didn’t have much of a problem fitting her into our daily lives, considering it had been just the two of us for 4 1/2 years. It was as if she had always been there. I couldn’t remember what life was like without her.

Pretty soon, our schedule as routine. My husband went back to work (not at United) when Riley was 7 months old. Time for day care. Whew, that was a day. Even though we found a wonderful Montessori School for her, it was the toughest thing I had ever done. When Riley was a year old, we decided that we would move back to San Antonio, nearer to my parents so I could have some help while Ryan was out of town.

Spending time with my mom as a mom was wonderful. Apparently, Riley was a replica of me so I could see what my poor mom had to go through when I was little. And it made me appreciate her even more. My dad traveled a lot when I was little, too, so my mom and I spent a lot of time as just the two of us. To this day, I am still her biggest fan.

Two years after arriving back in San Antonio, I discovered I was expecting again. I was scared all over again. Sure Ryan had a job this time, and we were in a good place, but I didn’t know if I had wanted another child. Riley and I had a beautiful relationship, and I didn’t want that changed. Very quickly though, I became excited about the new arrival. Riley was very much a part of the experience. She went on the doctor’s appointments with us. She heard the baby’s heartbeat the same time we did, and she was there when we found out that we would be having a BOY! Hmm, a boy. Not sure what to do with them (as babies…I could handle them when they were older). We all prepared Jack’s room together, and then on June 21st, Jack made his appearance into the world (11 days early- good thing I like to be ready for unexpected events). He had the Robinson chin. He had the same red hair as his sister did. And again, he was stunning. It amazed me how quickly the feelings take over when you hold your child for the first time. Right away, it felt as if he had been part of our lives forever. We couldn’t imagine life without him.

Again, I was lucky enough to have my mother nearby. My mother-in-law isn’t close to us geographically, but she has always been here for the important times, making me realize how very lucky I am to have two such strong and loyal women in my life. Now, I have my grandmother here with us, which completes the trifecta.

Riley and Jack have brought me so many days of happiness (and a few days of sheer and utter desperation). There is nothing that I would not do for these precious children. Being a mother has been the most wonderful experience of my life, and I have a ton of admiration for all moms- working moms, stay-at-home moms, adoptive moms, and more. It’s not an easy job. At times, it’s a thankless job. But when I hear either of my children say “I love you, Mommy”, it’s worth it- the love of a child more than makes up for the tears and frustration.

So I say HAPPY MOTHER’s DAY to all mothers. You are all truly remarkable women.

Responses

  1. aww, Lea..what a beautiful post! happy Moms Day!!!

  2. What a lovely testimony! You are a wonderful mother, wife and daughter-in-law. You have brought so much to our family and we are so fortunate and proud to have you as a member of our family. We love you very much. Happy Mother’s Day, honey! Thank you for our beautiful Riley and wonderful Jack! Love, Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

