Posted by: Lea | June 1, 2010

What I Learned From Shrek…

Yep, I said it. I actually learned something from the movie “Shrek Ever After”. I just saw the movie this past weekend, and I must admit, I really liked it. And I can totally relate to Shrek. I watched the first few scenes of the movie thinking, “Hmmm, this looks somewhat familiar”. No, I am not a big green ogre, and my best friend is not a donkey. What looked so familiar was the chaos. The everyday repetition. The crying kids.  The shear and utter frustration.

I think that every mom has wished at times that she could go back in time to a life when there were no pressures, no bills, no stress, no dirty diapers, no potty training, no sibling fights, no…well, you get the point. Watching Shrek come to the conclusion that the best possible solution was to go back in time before he met Fiona was eye-opening. Now, I have never wished for the day when I didn’t have my husband or my children in my life, but I certainly can relate. There are days I just want to run away screaming.

But then I hear the children laughing. I see my husband smile. One of the kids says “I love you, Mommy”, and I realize that I would never want to trade what I have. The grass may always look greener on the other side, but in reality, it’s not. Take advantage of the days that you have with your family. They may be stressful. They may be chaotic. They may bring you to tears. But remember there will always be more good times than bad. You just have to remember to search for the rainbow in the rain, and always remember that the bad times are temporary!

Responses

  1. Awwww…loved that post Lea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

