Posted by: Lea | November 17, 2010

Reflections of the Past Year

So tomorrow I turn 35. I am officially in my mid-30’s (although Ryan says I hit that at 34). I now have to check the box on forms that say 35-44. I am now going to be closer to 40 than 30. Wow.

The good news is I don’t feel 35. I don’t know what age I DO feel, but I feel pretty good “for my age”. With my birthday coming up, I’ve been thinking about the past year. The changes that have been made, for both the good and the bad, and how those changes have impacted me.

I began the past year at my most favorite place in the world- if you had to ask you obviously don’t know me that well. Yes, I celebrated my 34th birthday at Walt Disney World. Little did I know how much WDW would play into the next year. I had been on Twitter for a little bit by this point. I started it for my Disney travel business. I at first used it as a place to convey discounts, events and get the word out about my travel planning services. However, over the past year, it has turned into a social lifeline for me. I have met some AMAZING people through Twitter and through our mutual love of all things Disney.

I was fortunate enough to meet many of these people starting with that trip to Walt Disney World last November. Then I met more at WDW  in February. I met a bunch more in August on that WDW trip. I went to Philadelphia in September to see these friends again and met more friends.  And then I met EVERYONE at #epicOctober. Most recently, one of these friends came to San Antonio to visit me. And then of course, there were numerous tweetups with the other Texans in the group throughout the past year. These people have become more than just my “Disney friends”. They are true friends. Do we get along all the time? Nope. Does it matter? Nope. Because of the fact that they have become like family to me. I talk to them all the time, and I wouldn’t trade that for anything. And contrary to many people’s beliefs, we don’t sit around and talk Disney all the time. We have conversations about kids, life, TV shows, and yes, Disney. We have become more than just people on Twitter. All of them have a very special place in my life and heart, and I am so glad that this past year has brought them into my life.

This year also brought me to a new job. I was with Staples Advantage at the beginning of the year. I hated it. I knew it wasn’t where I was supposed to be. Come April, I was presented with the opportunity to start the interview process with Grainger, where I had a bunch of friends from my past years at DHL. I was so thankful to have had this opportunity arise. I was even more thankful when I received my job offer. It has been a wonderful ride so far, and I have a terrific boss and co-workers. And my boss “gets” my Disney fascination- WIN!

Ryan and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary this year, too. Unbelievable. It seems like just yesterday, when we were college juniors meeting at South Padre Island on Spring Break (a story for another time). We have had 13 wonderful years. They haven’t always been easy, and we have gone through some rough times, but we have always remained confident in our feelings for each other. We have had a lot of great times, and I have so many wonderful memories of our times together. Thirteen years has gone by fast, in a great way! We have brought 2 beautiful children into the world, and if me aging means that I get to continue to live this life, then I welcome getting older. I see us growing old together and sitting in our rocking chairs on our front porch watching the grandkids play in the yard!

Time really does go by fast- too fast. I remember being at Walt Disney World when I was my daughter’s age. It’s hard for me to believe that I have aged 26 years since then. I realize how short life is, and I no longer think that I am invincible. I know there is a reason for everything and that everything happens for a reason. So as I turn 35 tomorrow, I’m reminded how very lucky I am. And how much life I have left to live.

Responses

  1. Beautiful comments! I am so glad we are friends- true friend! Wishing you a wonderful birthday my friend. Hopefully we will all end up together in Orlando one day!!!

  2. Happy early Birthday to one of my most favorite people! I am so glad this past year has brought us together!!

  3. What an awesome post, Lea! Just love it and couldn’t agree more with everything you said. It truly has become like a family in so many ways. Happy early birthday to you!!!!!!! You are awesome 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

