Posted by: Lea | December 29, 2010

What I Learned in 2010…

Hard to believe that 2010 is almost over. It doesn’t seem like it was that long ago that we were ringing in the New Year! And what a year it has been! It’s been a really good year in so many ways. And along the way, a lot of lessons have been learned. Here are the highlights of what I have learned in 2010…

1) True friends are not only friends that you have known for years. There not just the people who you see on a semi-regular basis for lunch or dinner. True friends are the ones who are there for you no matter what. They can be there via text message, Facebook, telephone, or Twitter. But you know that they are there if you need them. I have been very fortunate this year to find some new true friends- friends who I know I can count on through thick and thin. I may not get to see them that often, but I know they are always with me. As one of those friends once said, they are my pocket friends.

2) My kids are growing up. I know this one should be an obvious one, but wow, did I realize this fact this year. My daughter is 8 going on 16. She is starting to keep things from me and starting to be a little devious (nothing harmful, just about friends and boys). She is learning about cliques and learning about who her real friends are. She is learning that school won’t always come easy to her and that she actually needs to work. I’m learning that I need to let go a little bit. While she’ll always be my baby, she’s not quite my little girl anymore. The nice thing is she still needs her Mommy. I am just figuring out when to be there as Mommy and when to let her learn on her own. And my son is now 4 and is getting ready to enter Kindergarten in 2011. He’s still my little baby though, even though he’s in Pre-K and learning so much every day. Each day he comes home and tells me something else he has learned. He’s so smart. And I am so lucky to have him.

3) Change is good. In June, I left my job at Staples for a new position at Grainger. And I couldn’t be happier. I no longer have a micromanager. I have a boss who lets me work the way that I need to work in order to be successful. He’s there when I need him and he’s not there when I don’t need him. And you know what? I have grown my  territory each month I have been there and am forecasting for an excellent 2011 (depending on how nice the company is to me when they set my goal). I tend to get content where I am and not want to rock the boat. But now I know that sometimes you gotta take that chance because it pays off. And Staples would NOT have given me what I wanted- I had been unhappy there for a long time.

4) I love Disney. Yes, this may seem like I’m stating the obvious and it wasn’t really a learned lesson. But I disagree. I was fortunate enough to be able to go to Walt Disney World 4 times this year- once solo, once with my mom and my kids, once with my husband and once alone with my kids. Each trip was something special in its own right. I loved being able to take the Keys to the Kingdom tour and learn all about the intricacies of Main Street. What I have always loved about Disney are the details. I loved sharing Disney with my mom, who definitely doesn’t understand my fascination, but she was willing to go and share the experience. Being alone with my husband (and many friends) there was another wonderful and yet different experience. I was actually able to ride Soarin’ with him! Usually, we have to do Child Swap! And taking the kids was an extraordinary experience. Yes, we’ve all been there together before, but this time it was just me and them. We were able to bond and talk in a way we don’t usually do. Disney also brought several important people into my life (and you know who you are). So for many reasons, I learned how very much I love Disney.

5) I have to remember to give my relationship with my husband priority. Too often, he gets pushed aside because I have to take care of the kids. And that’s not fair. He is 1/2 of the reason that the kids are even here, and he deserves my attention, too. Now, I learned this late in the year (like this month), but I have realized how critical it is that we get our alone time together. It’s OK if the kids aren’t always with us. And not only is it OK, it’s necessary. We need to be able to connect and talk about things other than the kids. We need to talk uninterrupted by kids screaming and needing my attention. I love my husband, and I remember vividly the fun times we had before the kids came. We still have fun when we’re together, and we need to do it more. He makes me laugh. He makes me smile. And he makes me feel secure. So for 2011, it’s time to refocus on us. And I know the kids will be fine.

As we enter 2011, I am going into it with the usual resolutions- eat better, exercise more and lose weight. But I am also going into it knowing how lucky I am. I have wonderful friends, wonderful children and a wonderful husband. And I couldn’t ask for more.

Responses

  1. Awesome post as always, Lea. Always enjoy your updates, and couldn’t agree more with what you said about friends. So cool!

    • Thanks, Dean. I am so happy that we met and became friends this year. You are very special, and I know that 2011 will be filled with wonderful things for you.

  2. If I wasnt crying right now I would respond moore but know that I love you #pea and am so glad to have you in my life!!!!

    • Thanks, #pea. I am so thankful that you came into my life this year. You mean the world to me. Love you!

  3. What a wonderful summary to the year! It has been amazing making such close friends so fast and sharing amazing trips! It is so true about the kids growing up so fast! Very scary! I also echo the importance of our spouses! We all get so busy that we can forget to work a little everyday on our marriage. Great post! Glad……no…..grateful daily that we are all friends! Happy New Year!

    • Thank you, Charles! I am so thankful that we have all become such close friends, and I cherish the time that I get to spend with all of you! We’ll be heading up your way in January so we’ll see you soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

