Posted by: Lea | August 6, 2011

Saying Goodbye to Max

Max 1997-2011

Last night, my family said goodbye to a beloved family member- our 14-year old West Highland White Terrier named Max, or as we frequently called him, Maxie. We are just heart-broken, as it was a sudden death (as sudden as it can be for a 14-year old dog). Max hadn’t been doing so well for a while now. He was completely deaf and had bad ear infections. He couldn’t see very well, and he hadn’t been eating. Most of his time was spent sleeping under the bed or in the closet. It was a rare treat when he came out to see us.

Today has been a rough day for me. I keep seeing him in my head as I saw him last night, which is not the way I want to remember him. I want to remember him for all of the sweet, funny things that he did throughout his 14 years. My husband and I got Max in July 1997, before he and I were married. We raised him from the time he was just a puppy, and he will always hold a very special place in my heart. In remembering him today, I began laughing through my tears.

Here are some of the funny and strange things Max did to make us laugh:

  • sleep in the dishwasher
  • drink from his water bowl while putting his front two paws in the water
  • look out the window of our 1st apartment and know when my husband was coming home before he even turned the corner
  • run and hide when someone would sneeze
  • pass gas and then get up and leave before anyone else smelled it
  • bite at the vacuum cleaner and pull it down the hallway
  • bark at nothing while outside
  • run in circles around our kitchen and laundry room
  • go and get one piece of dog food from the kitchen, bring it into the living room and flip it around several times before finally eating it and then going to get another piece to do the same thing with
  • turn in several circles before finally laying down
  • escaping the backyard (we found him once at the pound and once he was actually gone overnight) but always finding a way home
  • hide under the bed and refuse to come out

Max was an amazing dog. I’ll never forget the night I went into labor with my son, Max did not leave my side the whole night. I didn’t know I was going in labor as I was 11 days away from my due date. But he knew. And he made sure I was OK. Max was “my” dog. He stayed by my side for several years. It broke my heart to watch him get older, and I know in recent times, he was suffering. I hated to see him like that. It seems like just yesterday, we were bringing him home. He was with us through our wedding, our move to Cleveland from San Antonio, the birth of our daughter, numerous job changes, our move back to San Antonio from Cleveland, the birth of our son and so much more.

We are all in mourning tonight, including our other two dogs who are wondering where their patriarch has gone. I know he is up in heaven playing with Bruno, Baron, Murphy and Boomer.

Rest in Peace, Max. You are loved, and you are missed.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Oh Lea, I am so sorry to hear about Max. 😦 It is unbelievable how much they can touch your lives and I am so sorry. I will be thinking about you and praying your hearts are a little lighter knowing how awesome you were to him and all the great times you had.

    • Thank you, Dean. We did have a lot of great times. Your kind words mean a lot!

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss, Lea 😦 Max sounds like he was a great dog & was lucky to have been loved by you.

    • Thank you, Kaylene. He was very special. I appreciate you reading the post and taking the time to leave a message! Hope to see you soon!

  3. I’m sitting here reading your tribute with tears rolling down my cheeks, because I know how much Maxie meant to all of us, especially all of you! It also reminds me of the day we lost Boomer! Poor David had to take him to the Vet because I knew that I wasn’t strong enough and I knew I wouldn’t see him again. I am so sorry honey! You are all in my thoughts and prayers! I hope that you are all okay! Love you!

    • Thank you, Nancy. You know as well as I do how very special (and weird) that dog was. We’re all adjusting right now.

  4. Very sad news. Please accept my condolences. Your post is very lovely as it highlights your memories of Max in such a wonderful way.

    • Thank you very much. I appreciate the kind words and thoughts.

  5. Lea, I am so sorry to hear about Max. Thinking of you and your family and sending you many hugs.

    • Thank you, Traci. I appreciate the kind words and the hugs!

  6. I am sending lots of hugs to you & the rest of the family!!!! What a beautiful remembrance of an awesome dog and family member!!! ❤

    • Thank you, Shelley. I really appreciate how you have reached out to me several times with hugs and thoughts! ❤ you!

  7. Your post just made me both cry from recognizing the pain you and your family are going through, as well as laugh at the list of his quirky mannerisms. I lost my first dog, Kucha, in 1999 two days before my first trip to WDW. It was horrible but good to get away for a while…to get away from everything that reminded me of him. Max was a beautiful dog and I am sure that God is taking wonderful care of him. Always sending you my prayers and hugs. xo

    • Thank you, Brie. He was an awesome dog. I hate not having him here. ❤ you.

  8. We were glad to have met Max!

    • I’m glad you could, too, Charles! He was pretty special!

  9. […] August, we lost our beloved 14-year old West Highland White Terrier, Max. Max had been with us since before my husband and I were married, and this loss truly broke all of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

